Trash Day: Self check to avoid extra baggage

Change can be a wonderful experience. Often times, however,  it doesn’t feel that way until your on the other side of the experience looking back at how far you’ve come. While you’re in the transition its often unpleasant, uncomfortable, scary and sometimes even painful.

I have my great days when I’m extremely motivated and feeling optimistic about this time and stage in my life. Other times I have days like today when I’m just irritable, depressed and grasping for a clear sense of direction. In my efforts to redirect my energy and pull myself out of my mini “funk” I came across this article 40 Ways to Let Go and Feel less Pain on Tinybuddha.com and it really had a wealth of information that I found very helpful. These three jumped out at me as a great way to scrap old negative feelings and push forward:

“15. Take responsibility. Many times when you’re angry, you focus on what someone else did that was wrong, which essentially gives away your power. When you focus on what you could have done better, you often feel empowered and less bitter.

16. Put yourself in the offender’s shoes. We all make mistakes, and odds are you could have easily slipped up just like your husband, father, or friend did. Compassion dissolves anger.

17. Metaphorically throw it away. For example, jog with a backpack full of tennis balls. After you’ve built up a bit of rush, toss the balls one by one, labeling each as a part of your anger. (You’ll need to retrieve these—litter angers the earth!)”

I definitely will be putting these into use whenever the need arises. Which of the 40 ways speak to your personal growth challenges? Are there any you already put into regular practice?

Leave a Reply

